Home

About the Library

 

Pay Fines Online
Federal Depository Library

Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Click on any topic listed below to find a guide containing websites, databases and books chosen by librarians.

You are here

Travel

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

 

Databases 

Hospitality, Tourism and Leisure Collection

With current and relevant content from over 500 industry journals, this collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism field, while also allowing for focused study of specialized aspects of the industry - including cultural aspects of travel, leisure activities, economic aspects of tourism, and more. 

Pronunciator  
Pronunciator is a language resource database offering instruction for beginner, intermediate and advanced students in 80 foreign languages. It also offers English instruction for speakers of 50 foreign languages including Arabic, Bengali, Nepali, Somali, Spanish and Vietnamese. 

SCOLA
SCOLA receives and re-transmits foreign TV programming from around the world and provides other foreign language resources, language lessons, and learning material.  SCOLA Flyer

 

Websites 

Amtrak
Amtrak serves over 500 daily travel destinations in 30 plus routes across North America for travelers. 

BBC Country Profiles
Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. Also includes audio and video clips from BBC archives on selected countries, territory or international organization. 

Greyhound 
Travel with Greyhound to anywhere in the United States. Check fares and schedules.

Hostelling International
Hostels provide budget oriented, sociable accommodation where guests can rent a bed, sometimes a bunk bed, in a dormitory and share a bathroom, lounge and sometimes a kitchen.

Megabus
Megabus.com is the first, low-cost, express bus service to offer city-to-city travel for as low as $1 via the Internet.

National Geographic Expeditions
 National Geographic Expeditions span the globe and are designed to reflect our travelers' broad spectrum of interests, from small-ship expeditions and classic train journeys to photography workshops and family adventures.

National Geographic Travel
Find travel suggestions, photojournals, and stories on far-off and exciting places around the world.

Travel Channel 
Check out travel videos, shows, and guides on top travel destinations. Get tips, show updates, and trip ideas here.

U.S. Customs and Border Protection  
The US Customs and Border Protection secures the homeland by preventing the illegal entry of people and goods while facilitating legitimate travel and trade. Use this website to locate forms, airports and border wait times, and travel advisories to make your travel experience easier and more predictable.

U.S. State Department - Passports & Travel
Learn how to apply for or renew a passport.  Find forms, fees, and travel warnings.

World Factbook
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities. The Reference tab gives access to maps and flags of the world.

 

Community and Local Links 

Buffalo Niagara Convention & Visitors Bureau
Visitor information on hotels, shopping, restaurants, art, architecture, history, sports and things to do in the Buffalo Niagara region.

Buffalo Niagara International Airport 
Website for the major airport serving western New York providing flight information, airport services, amenities and information for crossing the border to Canada. 

The Niagara Falls Bridge Commission
Find out traffic conditions, toll costs and wait times for the Lewiston Queenton, Rainbow, Whirlpool (Nexus users only) and Peace bridges between the United States & Canada.

Niagara Falls International Airport
Located at 2-35 Niagara Falls Boulevard, the Niagara Falls International Airport is an attractive alternative to currently congested major North American International airports.

Niagara Frontier Transporation Authority (NFTA) - Metro
Check out schedules and routes for the metro rail and buses. The website also provides information on accessibility, safety tips, rider alerts, park & ride, fares, a trip planner and more.

The Peace Bridge
Get current wait times, road conditions or travel directions plus information on duty-free shopping.

Tourism - City of Buffalo
The City of Buffalo has many locations of interest to tourists. Check out what the area has to offer for visitors!

 

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.

Africa
Asia
Australia 
Canada
Caribbean
Central America
Eastern Europe
Europe
Mexico
Middle East
Oceania
Polynesia
Russia
South America
United Arab Emirates
United States

  

 

Category-Term: