Home

About the Library

 

Pay Fines Online
Federal Depository Library

Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Click on any topic listed below to find a guide containing websites, databases and books chosen by librarians.

You are here

Veterans, Service Members and Their Families

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

 

Databases 

General Onefile
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics. Features millions of full-text articles, many with images that are updated on a daily basis. Full text access to Airman, DAV Magazine, Military Review, Mother Jones, National Review, The Officer, and The Progressive. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.  NOVELny   Virtual Tour

MasterFile Premier
Contains full text for 1,935 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, science, multicultural issues and much more. Also contains full text for more than 300 reference books, 96,600 biographies, and 76,000 primary source documents.including American Journal of Public Health, Army Sustainment, GAO Reports, Marine Corps Gazette, Military History, Naval History, Sea Power, Smithsonian, Washington Monthly, and World War II.    Virtual Tour

Newsstand
Provides full-text searches of a collection of more than 1,000 newspapers. NOVELny

 

Websites 

Department of Defense
This link provides  information on pay & benefits, grants, internships and other resources vital to service personnel and people wishing to do business with the U.S. Department of Defense.

eBenefits
eBenefits is a government-operated central location for veterans, service members, and their families to research, find, access, and manage their benefits and personal information.

Military Scholarship Finder
Find millions of dollars in scholarships and grants exclusively for the military community.

National Military Family Association
The site speaks up on behalf of military families and empowers husbands, wives, and children to understand and access their benefits.

U.S. Department of Justice's Servicemember Civil Relief Act
Provides information on the Federal law protecting the civil rights of military personnel as they enter active service.  A legal services locator is available through the site at http://legalassistance.law.af.mil/content/locator.php

U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs Benefits
Information on VA education and training benefits, housing, mortgage loans, and life insurance.

 

Community and Local Links 

Erie County Veterans Service Agency
Local assistance for veterans in filing claims for benefits, presenting appeals when claims are denied, and navigating the Department of Veterans Affairs bureaucracy.

Erie County Veterans Real Estate Tax Breaks
Honorably discharged veterans may qualify for a 10% to 35% reduction of their residential real estate tax.  This webpage provides instructions on eligibility and how to apply.

New York State Division of Veterans Affairs 
Information on New York State benefits towards education, real estate property tax reductions, employment and training assistance, and the EZ-Pass for disabled veterans

"THANK A VET" Discount Program
Discount card that can be utilized at participating local businesses in Erie County. The card is available to any veteran who is an Erie County resident and honorably discharged from any branch of service of the United States Armed Forces. 

VA Western New York Healthcare System
Provides an overview to the physicians and services available through the VA Hospital.

Veterans One-Stop Center of WNY
The VOC of WNY provides the solution to many of the challenges most WNY veterans, service members, and their families face today in obtaining the services and benefits they need, earned, and deserve.

Veterans Outreach Center
Serving Veterans and their Families in Rochester and Buffalo NY.

WNY Heroes
Offers assistance through Grants, Programs and Resources available to Western New York Veterans and their families.

WNY Veterans Housing Coalition
Helps to provide housing, employment and services for Veterans.

 

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.

Employment for veterans
Legal rights and benefits for veterans 
Legal rights for service personnel and their families
Medical care for veterans
Mental health issues for veterans
Post Traumatic Stress Disorder
Services for veterans
Support for families of servicemen & women