12/12/17 Bookmobile Colden stop and Cultural Literacy Event at J.T. Waugh Elementary are cancelled.
Home

About the Library

 

Pay Fines Online
Federal Depository Library

Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Click on any topic listed below to find a guide containing websites, databases and books chosen by librarians.

You are here

Voting

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

voter registration application

 

Databases 

Buffalo News 
Full-text articles, 1989 - present that contain local election information.  Virtual Tour

Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Opposing Viewpoints in Context contains a range of perspectives on many important issues, with over 13,000 pro/con viewpoints.  Students of all levels will benefit from a variety of resource types: reference, news, primary sources, multimedia and more. Virtual Tour 

U.S. History in Context
U.S. History in Context is an online resource for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. It merges authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to websites. Virtual Tour

 

Websites 

Ben's Guide to U.S. Government for Kids
These pages explain the election process for Federal officials.

Federal Voting Assistance Program
One-stop-shop for Uniformed and Overseas Citizens Absentee Voting Act (UOCAVA) citizens for absentee voting related information.

Project Vote Smart
Non-partisan information on US federal and state candidates, ballot measures, issues and legislation. Includes directory of national and state political candidates.

Rights of voters with disabilities
Americans with Disabiliites and other laws protecting the right to vote for persons with disabilities

USA.gov Voting
Learn about voting, elections, and campaign laws.  You can also register to vote.

Vote 411
VOTE411 provides nonpartisan general and state-specific information aspects of the election process.

 

Community and Local Links 

Erie County, NY Board of Elections
Provides information, education and technology needed for fair elections and for the public to become effective and empowered voters.  There is also a polling place locator

League of Women Voters Buffalo Niagara
The League of Women Voters is a nonpartisan volunteer organization. Members do hands-on work to encourage an informed electorate and to advocate for civic improvement.

New York State Board of Elections
Registering to vote, absentee ballots, military voting and federal voting in New York State.

Niagara County Board of Elections
Look up polling places, find election results, and check the status of absentee ballots.

Voting Machines
Information about the voting machines available in your specific polling place in New York.

 

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.

Civics
Democracy
History of Voting
Voting