Home

About the Library

 

Pay Fines Online
Federal Depository Library

Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Click on any topic listed below to find a guide containing websites, databases and books chosen by librarians.

You are here

Weather

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

 

Databases 

Consumer Reports  
Full text articles from Consumer Reports from 1991 to the present. Search for equipment to help with weather from all seasons. Virtual Tour

Consumer Reports Buying Guide
A product-test and consumer advisory publication. Publishes results of tests on products ranging from major purchases such as automobiles & appliances to everyday items such as food & cleaning products. Also examines health, money management etc.

MasterFILE Premier
MasterFILE Premier contains full text for 1,935 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. This database also contains full text for more than 300 reference books, 96,600 biographies, and 76,000 primary source documents.  Virtual Tour

 

Websites 

AccuWeather
AccuWeather.com local weather forecast and radar for the US and International. Weather radar, maps & current conditions for the United States, including the Buffalo area

CNN Weather
Enter city name or zip code to get forecasts for cities around the world. Or select location from a list.

National Hurricane Center
Complete information on Hurricanes and Tropical Storms, including all advisories, watches and warnings.

National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
From daily weather forecasts, severe storm warnings and climate monitoring to fisheries management, coastal restoration and supporting marine commerce, NOAA’s products and services support economic vitality and affect more than one-third of America’s gross domestic product.

National Snow Ice and Data Center
The NSIDC at the University of Colorado supports research into the world’s frozen realms. Check out its “Easy To Use Data Products” like the Sea Ice Index, or click on the Education Center to learn “All About Snow.” Turns out it snows everywhere, even at the equator, and that New York state is home to the snowiest cities in the United States.

National Weather Service
Watches, warnings and forecasts, with information about Buffalo and the surrounding area. Enter a zip code or location to check the weather on the site.

Old Farmer's Almanac
Long-range forecasts, weather history, frost dates and more.

Prepare for Severe Weather
From USA.gov, contains links for general preparedness, agencies & organizations and other resources for different severe weather.

Ready.gov
Emergency preparedness  from the U.S. Department of Homeland Security, lists and explains specific threats and response.

The Weather Channel 
The Weather Channel and weather.com provide a national and local weather forecast for cities, as well as weather radar, report and hurricane coverage.  There's also information for weather at the Buffalo Niagara International Airport.

 

Community and Local Links 

Buffalo Monthly Snowfall Totals

WBEN Weather Forecast
NewsRadio 930

WGRZ Weather
Storm Team 2

WIVB Weather
WeatherWatch 4 

WKBW Weather
Channel 7, Eyewitness News

 

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.

Blizzards
Climate Change
Climatology
Floods
Global Warming
Hurricanes
Meteorology
Tornadoes 
Tsunamis
Weather
Weather Forecasting