Home

About the Library

 

Pay Fines Online
Federal Depository Library

Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Click on any topic listed below to find a guide containing websites, databases and books chosen by librarians.

You are here

Women's History

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

 

Databases

Biography in Context
Biography in Context is an online resource for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. It merges authoritative reference content with periodicals and multimedia while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.  Virtual Tour

History Reference Center
The History Reference Center database features reference books, encyclopedias, and nonfiction books from leading history publishers.  This resource also includes history periodicals, historical documents, biographies, historical photos and maps, and historical videos. Virtual Tour

New York Times
Complete New York Times coverage from 1851 to the Present. Read what was said by and about famous and not-so-famous women in the pages of the New York Times from the sufferagettes at the turn of the 20th century to feminists of the 21st century (1851-2003). Screen shots of the original newspaper pages provide context not found in standard databases. Search by individual name or organization. 

Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Opposing Viewpoints in Context contains a range of perspectives on many important issues, with over 13,000 pro/con viewpoints.  Students of all levels will benefit from a variety of resource types: reference, news, primary sources, multimedia and more.  Virtual Tour 

 

Websites

American Women (Library of Congress) 
Gateway to Library of Congress resources for the study of Women's History and Culture in the United States. Take advantage of the rich collection of images, diary entries, study guides and much more. This is an excellent place to start your research and receive the guidance you need to find what you are searching for.

Changing the Face of Medicine - Online Exhibition
This exhibition honors the lives and achievements of women in medicine. Women physicians have excelled in many diverse medical careers. Some have advanced the field of surgery by developing innovative procedures. Some have won the Nobel prize. Others have brought new attention to the health and well-being of children. Many have reemphasized the art of healing and the roles of culture and spirituality in medicine.

Confronting Violence: Improving Women's Lives - Online Exhibition
Covers topics on domestic violence (with lesson plans for educators), women's rights advocacy and contains a digital gallery of resources,

National Women's Hall of Fame
The Hall, in Seneca Falls, NY, is home to exhibits, artifacts of historical interest, a research library and office. View biographies of all 236 inductees by visiting this website.

National Women’s History Project
Multicultural American women are overlooked in most mainstream approaches to U.S. history, so the National Women’s History Project champions their accomplishments and leads the drive to write women back into history. 

Comprehensive Women's History Resource Guide
From About.com, this site IS comprehensive. Find links to information about women from around the world and through the centuries. This is a commercial (.com) site so there are ads on pages throughout. 

 

Community and Local Links 

Womens' Rights National Historic Park 
Did you know that the First Women's Rights Convention in America was held in Seneca Falls, New York in 1848? In addition to information about the park, this site provides information about the people and organizations that came together to make Seneca Falls the birthplace of the Women's Rights movement in the United States. 

Uncrowned Queens
Uncrowned Queens conduct research on issues affecting women of color, develop educational programs that will enhance the quality of life for women and their communities. This organization promotes the collection and dissemination of women's individual histories, organizations and collective histories and teaches women how to use technology to preserve and disseminate these histories. Learn more about local initiatives and how you can get involved.

'Women's History in the Buffalo, NY Area'
The items listed here are in the collection of the Buffalo & Erie County Historical Society. Includes works by and about notable women. Omitted are pictures, pamphlets, brochures, and articles.

 

 

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.

Women's Rights

 

Category-Term: