12/11/17 Lackawanna Library will be closing at 2:00 PM today
Home

About the Library

 

Pay Fines Online
Federal Depository Library

Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Click on any topic listed below to find a guide containing websites, databases and books chosen by librarians.

You are here

World History

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version


 

 

Databases

Biography in Context
Biography in Context is an online resource for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. It merges authoritative reference content with periodicals and multimedia while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text. Virtual Tour

History Reference Center
The History Reference Center database features reference books, encyclopedias, and nonfiction books from leading history publishers.  This resource also includes history periodicals, historical documents, biographies, historical photos and maps, and historical videos.  Virtual Tour

 

Websites

The History Channel
The official web site of the cable television station that offers programming related to historical events and people.  Included on the site are Popular Topics, This Day in History and History Behind the Headlines.

HistoryWorld 
This web site contains more than 1,000,000 words on world history in linked narratives.  The HistoryWorld Timeline enables the user to search the web through a timline of single subject events or to create a timeline with a keyword search.

Khan Academy: History
Online learning videos about various time periods throughout history.

World History Archives
A web site that holds 15,000 documents of world history.  Its aim is to be non-Eurocentric and to reflect a working-class perspective.

The Ancient Egypt Site
An interactive look at the history, language, monuments and culture of Ancient Egypt that can be searched by topic or keyword.

African History Timeline
Offers timelines of the history of Africa dating back to 5 million B.C.E.  The timelines include Ancient Africa, African Empires, African Slave Trade and European Imperialism, Anti-Colonialism and Reconstruction, andPost-Independence Africa and Contemporary Trends.

Ancient History BBC
Explore ancient history in-depth.  Topics include Egyptians, Greeks, British Prehistory, Romans, Vikings, Anglo-Saxons, Ancient India, and Other Cultures.

Hyperhistory Online
Hyperhistory is a web site presenting 3,000 years of world history with an interactive combination of lifelines, timelines and maps.

History Central
An in-depth coverage of all aspects of American history and world history.  Explore complete time lines of major events in history.  Research special sections on diverse subjects such as presidential elections, naval and aviation history.   Search nation by nation with a alphabetical listing of countries around the world. 

 

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog. 

Ancient Egypt
Ancient Greece  
Ancient Rome
World War I
World War II

Category-Term: