Home

About the Library

 

Pay Fines Online
Federal Depository Library

Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Click on any topic listed below to find a guide containing websites, databases and books chosen by librarians.

You are here

World Religions

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

 

Databases 

Academic Onefile
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources.  Virtual Tour

General Onefile
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics. Features millions of full-text articles, many with images that are updated on a daily basis.  Virtual Tour

MasterFILE Premier
Contains full text for 1,935 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, science, multicultural issues and much more. Also contains full text for more than 300 reference books, 96,600 biographies, and 76,000 primary source documents.  Virtual Tour

 

Websites 

Adherents.com
Adherents.com is a growing collection of over 43,870 adherent statistics and religious geography citations: references to published membership/adherent statistics and congregation statistics for over 4,200 religions, churches, denominations, religious bodies, faith groups, tribes, cultures, movements, ultimate concerns, etc. The religions of the world are enumerated here.

BBC:  Religion
Guides to world religions and beliefs. Includes Atheism, Christianity, Islam, Paganism, Jainism, Zoroastrian and many more.

Encyclopedia Mythica 
The award-winning internet encyclopedia of mythology, folklore, and religion.

Religion in American Culture
Based on interviews with more than 35,000 American adults, this extensive survey by the Pew Forum on Religion & Public Life details the religious makeup, religious beliefs and practices as well as social and political attitudes of the American public.

Virtual Religion Index
An extensive, selective, annotated directory of Internet resources on religion and related topics. From the Rutgers University Religion Department.

Yahoo! Directory: Religion and Spirituality: Faiths and Practices
A directory of websites concerning various faiths and religious practices.

 

Community and Local Links 

Diocese of Buffalo 
The Roman Catholic Diocese of Buffalo, with a link to Catholic Charities.

Episcopal Diocese of Western New York
The website of the Episcopal Diocese of WNY

Hindu Cultural Society of Western New York
Located in Getzville, NY the center's vision is to promote religious, cultural, educational and social activities which are consistent with Hindu philosophy and practice.  

Jewish Federation of Greater Buffalo
Jewish Community in the Buffalo Region.

Buffalo Zen Dharma Community
The Buffalo Zen Dharma Community (BZDC) offers weekly meetings where people can engage and deepen their sitting practice and broaden their understanding of the teachings through dharma discourses and talks from the teachers of the Mountains and River Order.

Network of Religious Communities
The Network of Religious Communities (NRC) is an interreligious/ecumenical organization of denominations, congregations, and religious organizations located in Western New York State, U.S.A. and the Niagara Peninsula of Southern Ontario, Canada.

Presbytery of Western New York
The Presbytery is the regional governing body of a diverse collection of  64 congregations of the Presbyterian Church, U.S.A., stretching across Niagara, Erie, Chautauqua, and Cattaraugus Counties.

Sanskriti - Bengali Cultural Association
Non-profit, non-political, cultural association promoting the awareness of Indian ethnic identity and fostering interaction and unity among the members. Its major goal is to espouse, enjoy and further in this distant land, the various aspects integral to the mosaic of Indian life - its literature, performing arts, festivals and religious events. As an effort towards the realization of its goals, Sanskriti organizes the celebration of several major religious festivals of Bengal, namely, Durga puja, Saraswati puja and Lakshmi puja.

WNY Muslims
Serves as a link between all the Muslim communities in the Western New York area.

 

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.

Amish
Baptists
Buddhism
Catholic Church
Christianity
Cults
Episcopal Church
Hinduism
Islam
Judaism 
Lutheran Church
Methodism
Mormons
Mythology
Orthodox Eastern Church
Presbyterianism
Protestantism
Quakers
Religion
Scientology
Sects
Wicca
World Religions