Home

About the Library

 

Pay Fines Online
Federal Depository Library

Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Click on any topic listed below to find a guide containing websites, databases and books chosen by librarians.

You are here

Writing

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Databases

General OneFile
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.  Virtual Tour 

Literature Resource Center
Literature Resource Center contains both biographical and critical information on more than 90,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and their works with in-depth coverage of 2,000 of the most-studied authors.  Virtual Tour

MasterFILE Premier
MasterFILE Premier contains full text for thousands of periodicals covering multicultural issues and much more. This database also contains full text for more than 300 reference books, 96,600 biographies, and 76,000 primary source documents.  Virtual Tour 

   

Websites

Dictionary.com
Use a dictionary or thesaurus, translate words, or look up quotes and other information on this multi-purpose site

Fiction Writing
Information on writing fiction including getting started, techniques and how to get published.

Guide to Grammar and Writing
Find help on grammatical issues, principles of composition, advice on English usage, interactive quizzes, and the writing process.

Legal Guide for Bloggers
The Electronic Frontier Foundation provides a summary of U.S. copyright laws as they apply to blogging

OpenOffice
This open source software provides similar tools to the Microsoft Office Suite, including spreadsheets, a word processor, the ability to create multimedia presentations, and more.

Owl: The Online Writing Lab
All types of writing resources for general, academic and technical writing, research and citation information, job search writing, grammar and punctuation, and writing exercises.

Poets and Writers
A primary source of information, support, and guidance for creative writers. Poets and Writers fosters the professional development of writers and promotes communication throughout the literary community.

Writer's Digest
Creative writing prompts, articles, competitions and webinars provide oppportunities for inspiration.

 

Community and Local Links

Buffalo Niagara Children's Writers and Illustrators
Geared towards writers of picture, middle grade, and young adult books. However, writers of other age groups, categories, and genres are always welcome!

Just Buffalo Literary Center
The premier center for the literary arts in the Buffalo/Niagara region, Just Buffalo promotes community-based literary events throughout the year, including poetry and fiction readings, literary lectures and open mics. There's even a Writer's Critique Group.

Western New York Writing Project
An affiliate of the National Writing Project, University of California at Berkeley, the Western New York Writing Project (WNYWP) has been empowering the writing/reading process in the schools across the Niagara Frontier for 21 years.

WNY Young Writers' Studio
A community where teachers and young people come together to discover what good writing is, how to create it, and how to inspire others to do the same. 

 

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog. 

Authorship
Getting Published
Grammar
Research and Academic Writing
Short Story Writing
Style Manuals
Technical Writing
Writing Poetry

 

 

Category-Term: