12/12/17 Bookmobile Colden stop and Cultural Literacy Event at J.T. Waugh Elementary are cancelled.
Home

About the Library

 

Pay Fines Online
Federal Depository Library

Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Click on any topic listed below to find a guide containing websites, databases and books chosen by librarians.

You are here

Zoology

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

 

Databases

America's News Magazines
America's News Magazines covers U.S. and international news, business, lifestyle, entertainment, sports, and science and technology from popular magazines. Search the magazines or read them "cover to cover". Zoology articles can be found in The Atlantic, The New Republic, Newsweek, Newsweek International, Popular Science, Science Illustrated, Science News, Slate (USA) and Smithsonian.  Virtual Tour

General Science Collection
A customized selection of journals that feature a wide range of general science topics.  

MasterFILE Premier
MasterFILE Premier contains full text for 1,935 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. This database also contains full text for more than 300 reference books, 96,600 biographies, and 76,000 primary source documents. Virtual Tour

Science in Context
For those seeking information on today's most significant science topics. Virtual Tour

 

Websites

All About Birds
From the Cornell Lab of Ornithology, with birding basics, news & events, a comprehensive bird guide, and conservation. It includes sample sounds from the lab’s extensive library of animal sounds and videos.

AmphibiaWeb
All about amphibian biology and conservation,  inspired by the worldwide declines. It includes maps, species information, photographs, sound files, as well as links to many specific sites.

Darwin Online
Digitized publications of Charles Darwin are freely available here. Darwin Online includes handwritten manuscripts, notebooks, diaries and journals.

Integrated Taxonomic Information System
Includes plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world.

ScienceDaily: Zoology News
Full-text news, articles and photos on animal life sciences. Read the latest research in zoology. Updated daily.

Science.gov
List of government resources for Animals, Plants And Other Organisms.

Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History
Information on the Museum's research and collections featuring a Department of Vertebrate Zoology, a Department of Invertebrate Zoology, and a Division of Mammals Database.

U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
Contains links to topics such as legislation, grants, permits, as well as species information.

World Wildlife Federation
Provides links to WWF national organizations, program offices, and associate offices.

 

Community and Local Links

Aquarium of Niagara
Dive into an ocean of discovery at Niagara's other water wonder! Highlights include California sea lion demonstrations, harbor seals, and a colony of Peruvian penguins. Over 40 aquatic exhibits.

Buffalo Museum of Science
Dedicated to the study and interpretation of the natural and physical sciences, the Buffalo Museum of Science's extensive collections and artifacts represent all facets of the natural world with an emphasis on Western New York as well as man-made objects spanning the globe. Anchoring Buffalo's East Side in Olmsted-designed Martin Luther King, Jr. Park since 1929, the museum presents a wide variety of programs and services for children, teachers, families, adults and community organizations throughout the year.

Buffalo Zoo
The perfect place for unique family fun all year long! It's the only place in town to observe a wide variety of exotic and domestic animals in naturalistic habitats, including the zoo's M&T Bank Rainforest Falls exhibit.

Tifft Nature Preserve
Tifft Nature Preserve is a 264-acre nature refuge dedicated to conservation and environmental education.

 

 

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.

Invertebrates
Mammals
Vertebrates
Zoology