Mental Health
24 Hour Crisis Hotline
Buffalo and Erie County 716-834-3131
24 Hour Addiction Hotline
Buffalo and Erie County 716-831-7007
Are you in crisis, experiencing emotional distress, or worried about someone you know?
Call or text 988 or chat at 988lifeline.org/chat 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
These links are not a substitute for medical advice. Please consult your personal healthcare provider.
Databases
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine
Enter you library card number to access information from nursing and allied health journals plus a wide variety of personal health information sources. Start your search by choosing the "subject guide search" then typing "mental health". Options for narrowing your search will be provided. Virtual Tour
MedlinePlus mental health
Overview of topics related to mental health and links to reliable online resources. This site is managed by the National Libraries of Medicine and National Institutes of Health. Virtual Tour
Reference Solutions (formerly Reference USA): Health Care
Includes 855,000 physician and dentist listings throughout the U.S.
Websites
MentalHealth.gov
The official site of the National Institute of Mental Health, this site provides information for professionals and consumers on mental disorders. Various publications are also available en Espanol.
National Deaf Domestic Violence Hotline 1-855-812-1001 (VP) 1-800-787-3224 (TTY)
The National Deaf Domestic Violence Hotline (NDDVH) is available to Deaf callers across the nation 24/7 365.
New York State Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services
Information on addictions, treatment, recovery and wellness.
Psych Central
Psych Central is the Internet's largest and oldest independent mental health and psychology network.
Psychiatry.org American Psychiatric Association- Patients and Families pages
Learn about common mental disorders, including symptoms, risk factors and treatment options. Find answers to your questions written by leading psychiatrists, stories from people living with mental illness and links to additional resources.
Suicide Prevention Lifeline 1-800-273-8255 Chat
Along with phone, text and chat hotlines, this site provides guidance on self care, helping others, a glossary and prevention information.
Community and Local Links
988 Community Education and Awareness Toolkit An interactive resource tool designed to support individuals facing suicide-risk. 988 is the three-digit number available in many areas nationally that will connect the caller to the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline. New York’s 988 toolkit was developed by the New York State Office of Mental Health includes marketing and educational resources to help educate the public.
Addiction and Recovery Resource Guide
Links to programs and resources in the Western New York region.
Best|Self Behavioral Health, inc.
Best|Self Behavioral Health, Inc. provides a comprehensive array of treatment and rehabilitation services to promote self-sufficiency, wellness and recovery, and an enhanced quality of life for individuals with mental health and addictive disorders.
Buffalo Psychiatric Center
Recovery from mental illness is possible. Buffalo Psychiatric Center provides comprehensive mental health services that promote recovery to individuals 18 years of age and older. Our service area includes the four counties of Erie, Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, and Niagara.
Crisis Services
More than just a suicide/mental health crisis hotline, this site provides access to services for homelessness as well as training and education.
Compeer of Greater Buffalo
Compeer recruits, screens, and matches trained volunteers and mentors in one-to-one supportive friendship relationships with children, adults and seniors who are receiving mental health treatment.
Erie County Anti Stigma Coalition
If you’re dealing with a mental health challenge, you are not alone. Approximately 1 in 5 Western New Yorkers are living with a mental health diagnosis, yet many of these people suffer in silence because of the discrimination that goes along with it. So, we’re starting a conversation to end the stigma surrounding mental illness. Join us as we share our stories, our struggles and our successes. When we talk about mental health, we help everyone find their voice.
Erie County Department of Mental Health Services Single Point of Access (SPOA)
Helps each mental health consumer who is referred to the Program to achieve and maintain stability through linkage with the most effective and least restrictive services available.
Horizon Health Services
Horizon Health Services is a not-for-profit corporation that provides an array of comprehensive services to assist individuals with mental health and/or substance abuse issues to make choices that improve their quality of life and achieve their personal recovery goals.
Mental Health Advocates of WNY
MHA promotes the mental health and well-being of the community through education, public information, prevention programs and training while supporting individuals and families living with mental illness through advocacy, treatment linkage and outreach services.
National Alliance on Mental Illness in Buffalo & Western New York (NAMI)
An organization of volunteers with many years of experience in dealing with the illnesses of their own relatives and with the mental health system who are committed to assisting, educating, and supporting other families in similarly difficult situations. The Mind Matters, 8th Edition: A Guide to Services for People Living with Mental Illness in the Buffalo-Niagara Region. To request a print copy, contact NAMI at namibuffalony@gmail.com or at 716-226-6264
Restoration Society
Assists all persons with mental health conditions to be successful and satisfied in environments of their choice. Provides training, mentoring, housing support and other essential resources.
Western New York Children's Psychiatric Center
The center provides inpatient treatment services and outpatient services including Day Treatment, Clinic Treatment, Intensive Case Management and Mobile Mental Health Consultation Services. The center serves children between the ages of 4 and 18.
Library Materials
Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.
Bipolar Disorder
Depression
Eating Disorders
Mental Health (general)
Mental Illness (general)
Personality Disorders
Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder