Britannica Academic combines the Encyclopedia Britannica with Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, magazines, periodicals, and many other research tools. Articles are written by Nobel laureates, historians, curators, professors, and other experts. Virtual Tour
Britannica School is the go-to site for learning more about any subject for all grades Pre-K-12 and all reading abilities. Offers thousands of up-to-date, curated, and curriculum-relevant articles, images, videos, audio clips, primary sources, maps, research tools, recommended websites, and 3 separate databases for Elementary, Middle, or High School. Virtual Tour
Gale Academic OneFile
Academic OneFile contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources, with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily. Virtual Tour
Gale General OneFile
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics. Education titles include American Education, Childhood Education, Education and Higher Education. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily. Virtual Tour
Gale In Context: Elementary
Kids InfoBits contains over 100 age appropriate magazines for students in kindergarten through grade five. Also includes Merriam-Webster's Elementary Dictionary, maps. flags, seals, charts, and graphs. Virtual Tour
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Opposing Viewpoints in Context contains a range of perspectives on many important issues, with over 13,000 pro/con viewpoints. Students of all levels will benefit from a variety of resource types: reference, news, primary sources, multimedia and more. Virtual Tour
Gale In Context: Middle School
Resource for students in grades 6 to 8. Offers magazines, newspapers, primary sources, over 12,000 videos and more on a variety of topics. Supports national and state curriculum standards in language arts, social studies and science. Virtual Tour
Library Resources for Educators
Learn about what the Buffalo & Erie County Public Library System has to offer students of all ages.
Common Core Standards
Learn why Common Core is important for children, explore the standards and understand how it was created.
Khan Academy - Common Core Math
Organized by grade level and topic
New York State Common Core Learning Standards
Preschool - grade 12 Common Core Learning Standards Documents.
PBS Education Resources
PreK-12 educational resources and activities for educators tied to PBS programming and correlated to local and national standards.
Online community where teachers can watch, share, and learn diverse techniques to help every student grow. Register for free to download supporting materials.
All Things STEAM
Comprehensive resources for offering programming in science, technology, engineering, arts, and mathematics from a librarian blogger.
Empire State STEM Learning Network
The Empire State STEM Learning Network is a statewide, community-led collaborative. The Network’s mission is to advance STEM education to prepare all students for success in school, work and life to fuel innovation and economic vitality in the Empire State.
STEM Education Data
Discover the answers to important questions on science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) education and careers using the information from the National Science Board’s Science and Engineering Indicators report.
STEM - U.S. Department of Education
Federal resources are helping to assist educators in implementing effective approaches for improving STEM teaching and learning; facilitating the dissemination and adoption of effective STEM instructional practices nationwide; and promoting STEM education experiences that prioritize hands-on learning to increase student engagement and achievement.
STEM curriculum for grades K-12 with hands-on lessons, activities and maker challenges.
Albright-Knox Art Gallery
Find exhibit, education and library information for the Albright-Knox Art Gallery, Buffalo's internationally renowned gallery for modern and contemporary art.
Aquarium of Niagara
Dive into an ocean of discovery at Niagara's other water wonder! Highlights include California sea lion demonstrations, harbor seals, and a colony of Peruvian penguins. Over 40 aquatic exhibits.
Buffalo Center for Arts and Technology
Inspires excellence and creativity and offers a culture of hope and purpose that transforms the lives of adults and high-school students.
Buffalo Museum of Science
Dedicated to the study and interpretation of the natural and physical sciences, the Buffalo Museum of Science's extensive collections and artifacts represent all facets of the natural world with an emphasis on Western New York as well as man-made objects spanning the globe. Anchoring Buffalo's East Side in Olmsted-designed Martin Luther King, Jr. Park since 1929, the museum presents a wide variety of programs and services for children, teachers, families, adults and community organizations throughout the year.
The perfect place for unique family fun all year long! It's the only place in town to observe a wide variety of exotic and domestic animals in naturalistic habitats, including the zoo's new M&T Bank Rainforest Falls exhibit.
EdTech Foundation of WNY
Group of volunteers who enrich the lives of children by improving access to modern computer technology. The Foundation sets-up and installs or configures reliable networks, computers, smartboards, servers and other types of technology for community centers, schools, or non-profits.
Explore & More Children's Museum
Spark a child’s creativity, curiosity & imagination with hands on exhibits at Explore and More.
Penn Dixie Paleontological and Outdoor Education Center
Owned and operated by the Hamburg Historical Society, the site provides geological activities such as searching for fossils and on site tours for schools.
Tifft Nature Preserve
Tifft Nature Preserve is a 264-acre nature refuge dedicated to conservation and environmental education.
WNY Invention Convention
To promote creative thinking and encourage scientific problem-solving for students in grades K-8.
WNY Regional Science and Engineering Fair
The Western New York Regional Science and Engineering Fair (WNYRSEF), sponsored by WNY Science Congress, Inc., is open to students in grades 5 – 12 from five WNY counties (Erie, Niagara, Orleans, Genesee, and Wyoming). This includes students who are enrolled in public or private schools, students who are home-schooled, and those involved in organizations outside of the traditional school setting.
Hub of the Empire State STEM Learning Network advancing the interdisciplinary teaching and learning of science, technology, engineering, the arts, and mathematics.
Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.
Browse this collection of educational and entertaining ebooks and audiobooks, donated by OverDrive to support young readers in our community. There’s no wait to check out these titles and more! https://buffalo.overdrive.com/collection/1091869
Copyright 2015· All rights reserved