Buffalo and Erie County Public Library

!!To protect your privacy, please remember to log out when you are finished. The Log Out button is at the top of the page.!!

Necropolis /

To stop the evil corporation Nightrise from unleashing its devastating power around the globe, fifteen-year-old Matt and three other Gatekeepers travel to Hong Kong to find Scarlet, the final Gatekeeper, whose fate is inextricably joined to their own. Full description

Main Author:
Format: Book
Language: English
Published: Levithan/Scholastic Press, 2009
Edition: First edition.
Series: Horowitz, Anthony, 1955- Gatekeepers ; bk.4.
Tags: Add Tag
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
View on New Catalog
Cover Image
Saved in:

As the fourth novel in the spellbinding Gatekeepers series begins, the world is under the greatest threat it's ever known. The evil corporation Nightrise has amassed an immense amount of power and the devastating force of the Old Ones is about to be unleashed around the globe. To stop this from happening, Matt and three of the Gatekeepers head to Hong Kong not just the modern city of skyscrapers and wealth, but the secretive underworld beneath. In Hong Kong they will meet the final Gatekeeper, a girl named Scarlet, whose fate is inextricably joined to their own....

Review by Booklist Review

The quintet prophesied to defeat the treacherous Old Ones in the Gatekeepers series is now complete as 15-year-old Scarlett adds her exceptional ability to the fantastical talents of teens Matt, Scott, Jamie, and Pedro. The story of her sudden leap from normal kid to unwilling guardian of humanity is the focus of this episode, with group leader Matt's angst providing a second voice to the proceedings. Readers shouldn't look too hard at the plotting here, but there's no denying Horowitz's talent for creating monstrous evil and pumping up the tension with bloody details, exciting escapes, and cliff-hanging sequences including one that presages yet another Gatekeepers adventure.--Zvirin, Stephanie Copyright 2009 Booklist

From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Review by School Library Journal Review

Gr 7 Up-Scarlet thinks the she is just a normal 15-year-old girl, until the day she steps through a door and finds herself in another country. There, in the hands of a sadistic monk in service to an ancient evil, she learns that she is one of five Gatekeepers who hold the fate of the world in their hands. From that point on, Scarlet's life is fraught with danger as she journeys to Hong Kong and becomes surrounded by sinister strangers and nothing is as it seems. The other Gatekeepers, now aware of Scarlet's existence, must travel to meet her. In doing so, they face monumental peril at the hands of the Old Ones and the sinister Nightrise Corporation who will stop at nothing to keep the Gatekeepers from joining forces to save the world. In this installment (Scholastic, 2009) of Anthony Horowitz's series, the Gatekeepers are brought together, and an explosive cliffhanger ending will leave fans anxious for the final volume. Horowitz does an excellent job of weaving backstory from the first three books into the text, and Simon Prebble brings the story to life with his expert inflection and cadence. A suspenseful tale sure to keep listeners on the edges of their seats.-Misti Tidman, Boyd County Public Library, Ashland, KY (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

(c) Copyright Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Author and television scriptwriter Anthony Horowitz was born in Stanmore, England on April 5, 1956. At the age of eight, he was sent to a boarding school in London. He graduated from the University of York and published his first book, Enter Frederick K. Bower (1979), when he was 23. He writes mostly children's books, including the Alex Rider series, The Power of Five series, and the Diamond Brothers series.

The Alex Rider series is about a 14-year-old boy becoming a spy and was made into a movie entitled Stormbreaker. He has won numerous awards including the 1989 Lancashire Children's Book of the Year Award for Groosham Grange and the 2003 Red House Children's Book Award for Skeleton Key. He also writes novels for adults including The Killing Joke and The Magpie Murders. He has created Foyle's War and Midsomer Murders for television as well as written episodes for Poirot and Murder Most Horrid. He made The New York Times Best Seller list with his titles The House of Silk Russian Roulette: The Story of an Assassin and Moriarity.Most recently he was commissioned by the Ian Fleming Estate to write the James Bond novel Trigger Mortis. Anthony was awarded an OBE for his services to literature in January 2014.

(Bowker Author Biography)

Similar Items