Buffalo and Erie County Public Library

!!To protect your privacy, please remember to log out when you are finished. The Log Out button is at the top of the page.!!

What I thought was true /

"17-year-old Gwen Castle is a working-class girl determined to escape her small island town, but when rich-kid Cass Somers, with whom she has a complicated romantic history, shows up, she's forced to reassess her feelings about her loving, complex family, her lifelong best friends, her wealthy... Full description

Main Author:
Format: Book
Language: English
Published: Dial Books, an imprint of Penguin Group (USA) LLC, 2014
Subjects:
Tags: Add Tag
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
View on New Catalog
Cover Image
Saved in:
SUMMARY

The eagerly anticipated follow-up to My Life Next Door is a magnetic, push-me-pull-me summer romance for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han.

Gwen Castle's Biggest Mistake Ever, Cassidy Somers, is slumming it as a yard boy on her idyllic Nantucket-esque island this summer. He's a rich kid from across the bridge in Stony Bay, and she hails from a family of fishermen and housecleaners who keep the island's summer people happy. Gwen worries a life of cleaning houses will be her fate too, but just when it looks like she'll never escape her past--or the island--Gwen's dad gives her some shocking advice. Sparks fly and secret histories unspool as Gwen spends a gorgeous, restless summer struggling to resolve what she thought was true--about the place she lives, the people she loves, and even herself--with what really is.

Huntley Fitzpatrick delivers another enticing summer read full of expectation and regret, humor and hard questions, and a romance that will make every reader swoon.


Review by Booklist Review

Gwen Castle feels like her future is sealed for myriad reasons: because of the working-class family she was born into; because of the beach town where she grew up and where her family owns a ramshackle summer business she can't get away from; and, cringingly, because of some ill-fated decisions she made around a group of richer guys from the mainland back in the spring. But then Gwen is offered a ritzy summer job taking care of a wealthy elderly vacationer, and gorgeous Cassidy Summers, one of her spring hookups, is hired to be the island's yard boy. Individually, Gwen and Cass each begin to reconsider how much control they actually have on the direction of their lives. Fitzpatrick (My Life Next Door, 2012) offers a sometimes steamy and very believable account of how it feels to discover how important it is to take responsibility for oneself and the decisions that shape one's life. A must for collections that can't keep Sarah Dessen, Stephanie Perkins, or YA summer romance titles on the shelves.--Walters Wright, Lexi Copyright 2014 Booklist

From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Review by Publisher's Weekly Review

Fitzpatrick's thoughtful and genuine love story shows the clash between classes in a New England beach community that's home to two types of people: those who live in mansions, and those who serve them. After junior year, Gwen, whose mother is a house cleaner, has done more "serving" than she'd like to admit, earning her a less-than-pristine reputation among the members of the boys' swim team, including rich Cass, whom Gwen secretly admires. After a humiliating run-in with him at a party, it's hard for Gwen to believe that he wants more from her than a quick fling, but over the course of the summer, he gradually wins her trust and her heart as their paths cross on the island. Meanwhile others-Gwen's hardworking father, her ambitious cousin and his girlfriend, and her summer employer-shock and disappoint Gwen, further upending her life. Tracing Cass's coming of age as she faces some harsh realities, Fitzpatrick (My Life Next Door) once again evokes the dizzying heights of adolescent passion while remaining down-to-earth. Ages 14-up. Agent: Christina Hogrebe, Jane Rotrosen Agency. (Apr.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Review by School Library Journal Review

Gr 8 Up-Gwendolyn Castle is ready for new possibilities. After growing up on the island of Seashell, CT, she wants to discover what else the world has to offer-off-island. She's good hearted and helps her family as much as she can by working long days and taking care of her brother, who has special needs, but Gwen also wants to enjoy her last summer on the beach with her friends. Unfortunately, she can't stop running into her biggest mistake ever, Cassidy Somers, who proves that not everything is what it seems. Narrator Erin Spencer lends authenticity to protagonist Gwen Castle and the real-life situations she navigates. Her cadences and rhythms give the right voice to each character. Spencer's soft-spoken charm will keep listeners wanting more. A heartfelt coming-of-age story of friendship and first love. VERDICT A good summer listen for fans of Sarah Dessen.-Jennifer Mann, Ypsilanti District Library, MI © Copyright 2015. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

(c) Copyright Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.
AUTHOR NOTES

From the author of My Life Next Door comes a new swoony summertime romance


Similar Items