Buffalo and Erie County Public Library

!!To protect your privacy, please remember to log out when you are finished. The Log Out button is at the top of the page.!!

The boy most likely to /

"When Tim and Alice fall in love, Tim thinks he is finally on the right track, until the unexpected consequences of his alcoholic past throw a wrench in his new life"-- Full description

Main Author:
Format: Book
Language: English
Published: Dial Books, 2015
Subjects:
Tags: Add Tag
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
View on New Catalog
Cover Image
Saved in:
SUMMARY

The romantic companion to My Life Next Door --great for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han.

Tim Mason was The Boy Most Likely To find the liquor cabinet blindfolded, need a liver transplant, and drive his car into a house

Alice Garrett was The Girl Most Likely To . . . well, not date her little brother's baggage-burdened best friend, for starters.

For Tim, it wouldn't be smart to fall for Alice. For Alice, nothing could be scarier than falling for Tim. But Tim has never been known for making the smart choice, and Alice is starting to wonder if the "smart" choice is always the right one. When these two crash into each other, they crash hard.

Told in Tim's and Alice's distinctive, disarming, entirely compelling voices, this novel is for readers of The Spectacular Now , Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist , and Paper Towns .


Review by Publisher's Weekly Review

Fitzpatrick returns to the theme of opposites uniting in this heartfelt companion to My Life Next Door (2012), which revisits the large, boisterous Garrett family. When the story begins, eldest daughter Alice is overwhelmed by the responsibilities of working at her parents' hardware store, chauffeuring her siblings around town, and tackling the family's mounting bills while her father is in the hospital. She cannot help but be irritated when her brother's screw-up buddy, Tim, gets kicked out of his house and usurps her one place of refuge, the apartment above the garage. Tim appears to be turning over a new leaf, but when the serious consequences of Tim's wild days come crashing down, it threatens to compromise Tim's plans for the future and destroy his blossoming romance with Alice. The well-defined characters, splashes of humor, and emotional entanglements of Fitzpatrick's previous works reappear in full force in this contemporary romance. Not every conflict gets resolved, but readers will sense that the Garretts and newcomer Tim will surpass their obstacles and thrive. Ages 14-up. Agent: Christina Hogrebe, Jane Rotrosen Agency. (Aug.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


Review by School Library Journal Review

Gr 8 Up-Recovering alcoholic and wealthy bad boy Tim ends up homeless when his family kicks him out, and friend Jase Garrett offers him a garage apartment. Nursing student Alice juggles multiple responsibilities-going to school, managing the family business, helping with her siblings, and running the household-while her father recovers from an accident and her mother deals with another pregnancy. A romance slowly builds between Tim and Alice, but this isn't just a love story. Tim and Alice both have personal struggles, and there are some underdeveloped plot threads involving other siblings and Alice's ex. The dual narrative is choppy at times, but the reading is done expertly by MacLeod Andrews and Jorjeana Marie. -VERDICT Of interest to fans of the author and those of young adult love stories with class differences. ["The author delivers a strong message without being heavy-handed, and the well-thought-out ending is considerate and will broaden teens' perspectives": SLJ 10/15 review of the Dial book.]-Denise A. Garofalo, Mount Saint Mary College, Newburgh, NY © Copyright 2015. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

(c) Copyright Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.
AUTHOR NOTES

Huntley Fitzpatrick always wanted to be a writer, ever since growing up in a small coastal Connecticut town much like those in My Life Next Door , What I Thought I Was True , and The Boy Most Likely To . After college she worked in many fields, including academic publishing and as an editor at Harlequin. Huntley is currently a full-time writer and mom to six children. She lives in coastal Massachusetts.


Similar Items