Buffalo and Erie County Public Library

!!To protect your privacy, please remember to log out when you are finished. The Log Out button is at the top of the page.!!

The fifth petal : a novel /

When a teenage boy dies suspiciously on Halloween, chief of police John Rafferty suspects it may be linked to the triple homicide twenty-five years earlier involving three descendants of Salem Witch Trial victims. Full description

Main Author:
Format: Book
Language: English
Published: Crown, 2017
Edition: First edition.
Subjects:
Tags: Add Tag
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
View on New Catalog
Cover Image
Saved in:
SUMMARY

Could a witch hunt happen again in Salem?

For readers of Deborah Harkness's A Discovery of Witches , New York Times bestselling author of The Lace Reader Brunonia Barry returns to Salem with this spellbinding new thriller, a complex brew of suspense, seduction and murder.

When a teenage boy dies suspiciously on Halloween night, Salem's chief of police, John Rafferty, wonders if there is a connection between his death and Salem's most notorious cold case, a triple homicide dubbed "The Goddess Murders," in which three young women, all descended from accused Salem witches, were slashed on Halloween night in 1989. He finds unexpected help in Callie Cahill, the daughter of one of the victims newly returned to town. Neither believes that the main suspect, Rose Whelan, respected local historian, is guilty of murder or witchcraft.

But exonerating Rose might mean crossing paths with a dangerous force. Were the women victims of an all-too-human vengeance, or was the devil raised in Salem that night? And if they cannot discover what truly happened, will evil rise again?


Review by Booklist Review

*Starred Review* Salem police chief John Rafferty, husband of lace reader Towner Whitney, reaches back in time to solve the death of a teenage boy on Halloween night. When this case looks like it might tie into the Goddess Murders, a 1989 triple homicide of three women descended from accused Salem witches, he enlists the help of the daughter of one of the goddess victims. The main suspect, a disturbed woman who survived the gruesome murders of her three friends and is convinced she is inhabited by a banshee, believes she killed the boy with her scream. The superlative Barry (The Lace Reader, 2008; The Map of True Places, 2010) creates a vividly eerie, time-bending landscape that stretches back and forth between the Salem witch trials, the Goddess Murders, and the present-day mystery. Barry fans will welcome the return of beloved characters and the introduction of new ones into a contemporary Salem appropriately fraught with remnants and reminders of its dark and twisted history. This spooky, multilayered medley of mysteries is sure to be a bestseller.--Flanagan, Margaret Copyright 2016 Booklist

From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Review by Publisher's Weekly Review

Bestselling author Barry (The Lace Reader) brings readers into the historic town of Salem, Mass., where the parallels between a past crime and the present-day death of a teenage boy at the hanging site of the Salem witches seem all too familiar to the suspicious community. Rose, a once-respected Salem witch-trial historian and scholar who was the primary suspect in the unsolved Goddess murders, which rocked the town nearly 20 years ago, has never been the same after the humiliation of the investigation. Now a mentally unstable outcast, Rose is again the target of public scrutiny concerning the murder of the troubled teen. The chief of police, Rafferty, and Callie, Rose's niece and daughter of one of the murdered women, aren't convinced of Rose's guilt. Whisked away from Salem under the care of nuns after the death of her mother, Callie was the sole witness to the Goddess murders and has been sheltered from much of her family history-until news of the murdered boy brings her again to Salem and memories begin flooding back during waking dreams. By reopening the Goddess-murder cases and relying on the power of modern magic, mythology, and history, Callie and Rafferty seek to uncover the true murderer. Dark and suspenseful, Barry's well-constructed tale is filled with traps and red herrings as the truth is slowly revealed and Salem is forced to confront its sordid past. (Jan.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Review by Library Journal Review

Callie Cahill's mother and her mother's friends, all of whom were descendants of women accused of witchcraft in the 1692 Salem trials, were murdered on Halloween. They had all lived with "Aunt" Rose, whom Callie thought had been killed as well. Only five years old at the time, Callie was found clutching a rose-shaped rosary so tightly, she still bears the scar. When adult Callie learns that Rose is not only alive but a murder suspect in the death of a teenager, she returns to Salem to care for the not-quite-all-there Rose. Callie's past nightmares come back with a vengeance, and she wants Rafferty, the police chief, to reopen the case of her mother's unsolved murder. Anna Marie Lee reads Barry's work with well-defined voices for each character. Her tone allows one to figure out quickly the commentary preceding each chapter. VERDICT Recommended for fans of Barry and historical fiction and those fascinated with the witchcraft trials of the 1600s. ["Enthusiasts of the author's earlier work and readers interested in the history of witchcraft and the occult will enjoy this return visit to Salem": LJ 10/1/16 review of the Crown hc.]-Cheryl Youse, Norman Park, GA © Copyright 2017. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

(c) Copyright Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.
AUTHOR NOTES

Author Brunonia Barry was born in Massachusetts. She studied literature and creative writing at Green Mountain College in Vermont and at the University of New Hampshire before working in Chicago on promotional campaigns for theater and co-founding Smart Games. She wrote for the tween series Beacon Street Girls and penned the international and New York Times bestelling novel The Lace Reader.

(Bowker Author Biography)


Similar Items