Skip to main content

Ignatz Awards Announced

cover_hot comb


The Ignatz Awards Winners are announced at the Small Press Expo (SPX) each year. The award was created, in 1997, to recognize outstanding achievement in comics and cartooning.  It specifically focuses on ”exceptional work that challenges popular notions of what comics can achieve, both as an art form and as a means of personal expression.” 

Laura Dean Keeps Breaking up with Me, by writer Mariko Tamaki and artist Rosemary Valero-O’Connell, won several divisions. I can’t help but agree. So far, this is my favorite graphic novel written in 2019. Multiversity Comics has put together a list of this year’s winners and the SPX website lists all of the nominees. Click on the images below to reserve your library copy!