Job + Career Resources

job and career

 

Library Job Fair - January 2022 

Information and links to Job Fair participant organizations seeking employees

Library Job Search Instructional Videos

Applying for a Civil Service Exam in Erie County  

Have you ever thought of applying for a civil service exam and you weren't sure of the process? Check out this instructional video where we explore the Erie County Civil Service website and navigate through job postings, FAQs, forms and much more.

How to Apply for a Civil Service Exam in New York State

Are you interested in a Job in New York state, but it requires a civil service exam? Are you confused by the process? Check out this instructional video where we explore the New York State Civil Service website and navigate through job postings, FAQs, forms and much more.

Applying for a Job Online

Most jobs today require online applications. Sometimes these applications can be long and cumbersome. In this video, we will break down some of the common elements that you can expect on a job application so that you will be fully prepared when you start the application process.

An Overview of Data Axel Reference Solutions Job Search  

Are you looking for a job and don't know where to start? Look no further than the jobs search on Data Axel Reference Solutions. This resource is available at your local library and is also accessible at home on the library website. This video will give you a step-by-step guide to the features available and also demonstrate how to search for your ideal job.

Fundamentals for a Successful Job Interview

In this presentation, we will discuss strategies for answering interview questions that are confusing. Our focus will be on preparing you for success at your upcoming job interview.

Getting Started with LinkedIn  

Join us for this brief introduction to Linkedin. You will learn the basics of setting up an account and also get a brief tutorial on the many features of Linkedin. After viewing this video, you will be comfortable establishing your own presence on the platform of Linkedin.

Resume and Cover Letter Fundamentals  

In this brief video, we will explore the important elements that your resume and cover letter should include. A focus on available templates and ideal formatting will be discussed.

Jump-start Your Career in Data Analytics

This session covers tips for breaking into this in-demand field through a Google Career Certificate.

Databases

Business Insights:  Essentials
Detailed company and industry news and information from company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, periodicals and more.  Virtual Tour

Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA): Business
Includes 24 million business listings nationwide searchable by name, location, line of business, size and other details. This product is for personal non-commercial use only.

Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA): Jobs/ Internships
Combine the power of Reference Solutions with the job site, indeed.com.  Find your next job with the mapping tool and view results with detailed business profiles.
 

Websites

Career Information 

Erie Niagara Area Health Education Center (ENAHEC)
Transforms and creates a diverse health workforce by educating, exposing and connecting future and current health professionals to underserved and underrepresented communities in Erie and Niagara counties.

Haz-Map
Occupational health and toxicology database designed to link jobs to hazardous job tasks that are linked to occupational diseases and their symptoms.

Occupational Outlook Handbook 
This classic source contains job descriptions, working conditions, the training and education needed, earnings, and expected job prospects in a wide range of occupations.  A list of the 20 occupations with the highest projected numeric change in employment is available at https://www.bls.gov/ooh/most-new-jobs.htm

Western New York Council on Occupational Safety and Health (WNYCOSH)
WNYCOSH has empowered hundreds of thousands of workers including young workers, refugee and immigrant workers, low-wage workers and workers in high hazard industries through direct training to identify, evaluate and control hazards in the workplace.   Information on worker righters are available in 14 languages at https://wnycosh.org/know-your-rights/

Civil Service Exams

City of Buffalo
Current civil service job openings in the city of Buffalo.

Erie County
Current civil service exam postings in Erie County.  This website includes a printable application form.

New York State
Examination postings for jobs in New York State.  Apply online at https://www.cs.ny.gov/jobseeker/onlineapp/ocappinfo.cfm

New York State Unified Court System 
Current exams, statewide examination schedule, and a printable application form.

USAJOBS
The U.S. Government's official site for jobs and employment information.  Current federal job openings and an online application form.

Test Preparation

Erie County Civil Service Study Guides
Study guides for select Erie County Civil Service Exams.

Test Guides and Resource Booklets for Local Examinations
Study guides for local New York State Civil Service Exams.

Test Guides and Resource Booklets for State Examinations 
Study guides for select New York State Civil Service Exams

Resumes, Cover Letters and Interviews

JobHuntersBible.com 
The official site for the book What Color Is Your Parachute. Includes information on creating resumes and cover letters; provides job hunting advice and career counseling.

LinkedIn 
Create an online resume and make connections with past or present colleagues and former classmates.  Used by over 40 million people to exchange job information, ideas and opportunities.

Monster.com Resumes & Letters
Resume and cover letter tips and samples.

Monster.com Interviewing 
Provides assistance with interview preparation and questions.  

“What Is Your Biggest Weakness?”
An article on answering the interview question "What is your biggest weakness?" by Mary Ryan, Associate Director of Career & Leadership Services for Working Professionals, University at North Carolina.

Local Job Search Assistance

Buffalo Employment and Training Center (BETC)
Offers career counseling, skills assessment, job listings, computer training classes and networking opportunities free of charge. Computers with Internet access help you perform job searches, send electronic resumes, and search career sites.

SUNY Erie One Stop Career Center 
Helps job seekers access the skills they need to obtain employment and links qualified job seekers to hiring employers.  All services are cost-free.  Explore alternative career paths, upgrade your computer skills, compare salary data for different occupations, learn which careers are hot, get résumé writing tips and job interview strategies.

New York State Department of Labor
Job Express page lists job openings available in New York State by region.

Reentry Services within Erie County
Links to mentoring services, vocational guidance and job training and placement for ex-offenders.

Senator Tim Kennedy's Job File
Connects Western New Yorkers seeking employment to job opportunities at companies and agencies across WNY.  Every Monday, new postings will be updated on the Kennedy Jobs File, with links to each agency and application. Scroll down to the bottom of the page to find the latest listings.

UB Educational Opportunity Center
Offers vocational training programs that lead to gainful employment.  Provides civil service exam preparation and career planning.

Local Jobs

Buffalo Help Wanted
Browse Buffalo area jobs and post your resume.

Buffalo Job Finder 
Search local job postings through The Buffalo News and post your resume. 

Western New York Jobs
Find local career training opportunities and search help-wanted ads.  Offers email notification for job listings, information about career fairs, and open interviews.

 

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search of related materials in the B&CPL Catalog.

Career Development
Civil Service Examinations
Cover Letters
Employment Interviewing
Job Hunting
LinkedIn
Resumes
Vocational Guidance for ex-offenders
Vocational Interests

subject guides terms