Solar Eclipse
Buffalo, NY is in the path of totality for the total solar eclipse on Monday, April 8, 2024. The eclipse begins at approximately 2:05 p.m., with totality at 3:18 p.m. for three minutes and 46 seconds. The partial eclipse will end at 4:32 p.m.
The only safe way to view the partially or uneclipsed Sun is through specialized solar filters, like those found in eclipse glasses or hand-held solar viewers. The only exception to this is during totality.
The downtown Central Library will offer free, all-ages programs throughout the day. It will close from 3 to 3:30 p.m. on Monday, April 8, to allow everyone to go outside to view the once-in-a-lifetime total solar eclipse!
Websites
April 8, 2024, Solar Eclipse
NASA offers safety tips, information on what to expect, and information on where and when the April 2024 solar eclipse will occur.
Crochet Solar Eclipse Coasters
This website provides the details and pattern for making your own solar eclipse coaster, a wonderful craft idea for people of all ages.
Eclipses: History
NASA explores the history and human explanations of an eclipse. Eclipses have been occurring on Earth since long before humans walked the planet. Humans have had different interpretations of and reactions to these striking celestial events.
Library of Congress Research Guide
The Library of Congress provides a reference guide listing materials and information all about solar eclipses.
National Eclipse
National Eclipse provides an overview of topics pertaining to the 2024 solar eclipse.
National Informal STEM Education Network (NISE)
NISE provides a STEM based educational webpage highlighting activities and information about a solar eclipse, with emphasis on the Monday, April 8th solar eclipse.
Solar Eclipse Terminology
American Astronomical Society shares a solar eclipse glossary to describe various aspects of solar eclipses.
Space: 101: Solar Eclipse
National Geographic provides a short educational video on eclipses, focusing on a total solar eclipse.
The Solar Eclipse Path
NASA provides the path, locations, times, and duration of the eclipse across the United States.
Types of Solar Eclipses
NASA provides information on the five types of solar eclipses.
Community Links
Buffalo & Erie County Public Library System Calendar of Solar Eclipse Events
Check out the Buffalo & Erie County Public Library online calendar to see what other programs are available at participating libraries. Don’t forget your glasses!
Buffalo Eclipse
This website discusses the safety, science, locations, resources and frequently asked questions pertaining to the solar eclipse on Monday, April 8, 2024.
Buffalo Museum of Science
The Buffalo Museum of Science website answers frequently asked questions and lists events leading up to the solar eclipse on Monday, April 8, 2024.
Challenger Learning Center of Lockport Mobile Planetarium
You can have a stellar experience that brings space to life! We combine the best of planetarium presentations and hands-on activities on various astronomy and science topics. Our Digitarium Delta 4 Digital Planetarium System allows us to fly to all the planets, their moons, and dwarf planets. Our planetarium makes celestial bodies appear and move realistically to simulate the complex motions of the heavens.
Erie County Department of Health
The International Institute of Buffalo provided the ECDOH with a one-page eclipse safety document. In addition to English and Spanish, the page has links in Arabic, Bengali, Burmese, French, Kiswahili, Swahili, Soomaali (Somali), Pashto, Ukrainian, and Dari.
International Institute of Buffalo
The International Institute of Buffalo also provides the one page solar eclipse safety document in Arabic, Bengali, Burmese, Dari, English, French, Kiswahili, Pashto, Soomaali (Somali), Spanish, Swahili and Ukrainian.
Solar Eclipse at Niagara Falls
Beginning on April 4, 2024, scientists, subject matter experts and astronauts from NASA (National Aeronautics and Space Administration) will be providing programming and exhibits throughout Niagara Falls, USA, including at Niagara Falls Public Libraries, the Niagara Falls Underground Railroad Heritage Center, the Aquarium of Niagara, the Niagara Power Vista, the Niagara Falls Culinary Institute and Niagara Falls State Park. All events will be free and open to the public throughout the entire weekend leading up to the April 8 event.
The Buffalo Astronomical Association
The BAA is an organization composed of people from all walks of life who share a passion for the night sky and the science of astronomy.
Whitworth Ferguson Planetarium
Does your interest in astronomy go beyond viewing a solar eclipse? Visit and enjoy the public programs that are offered at the Whitworth Ferguson Planetarium at Buffalo State University. The new Whitworth Ferguson Planetarium provides students and visitors with viewings of stars, constellations, nebulae, galaxies, planets, and much more. The planetarium programs cater to people of all ages.
Databases
Gale Academic Onefile
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Virtual Tour
Gale General Onefile
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics. Features millions of full-text articles, many with images that are updated on a daily basis. Virtual Tour
Gale In Context: Elementary
Gale In Context: Elementary (formerly Kids InfoBits), introduces elementary school students to database searching with resources featuring age-appropriate, curriculum-related content. Virtual Tour
Gale In Context: Middle
Resource for students in grades 6 to 8. It offers magazines, newspapers, primary sources, over 12,000 videos, and more on a variety of topics. Supports national and state curriculum standards in language arts, social studies, and science. Virtual Tour
Library Materials
Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.
Astronomy
Astrophysics
History of the Solar Eclipse
Solar Eclipse
Solar System
The Moon
The Sun