Disability Resources

disability infogram

 

Databases

Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine
Find full-text of nursing and allied health journals plus a variety of disability-related articles. Virtual Tour

Medline Plus  
This is a comprehensive medical site from the National Library of Medicine. Find information on diseases and medications, links to directories of hospitals, physicians and organizations, and to other medical sites from the federal government.  Additional information is available on disabilities plus access to articles from the National Institute of Health, the Department of Health and Human Services, the Social Security Administration, the American Association of Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities, et al.
 

Websites

AbleData
AbleData provides objective information on assistive technology and rehabilitation equipment available from domestic and international sources to consumers, organizations, professionals, and caregivers within the United States. We serve the nation's disability, rehabilitation, and senior communities. AbleData does not produce, distribute or sell any of the products listed on the website, but provides you with information on how to contact manufacturers or distributors of these products.

CSD Communication Service for the Deaf
Deaf advocacy focusing on self-perception, job and career opportunities and making connections between deaf communities.

USA.gov/disability-services
With just a few clicks, visitors can find critical information on a variety of topics, including benefits, civil rights, community life, education, emergency preparedness, employment, housing, health, technology and transportation.

Disability and Health in New York State
State website that brings you local resources. Best used to find benefit eligibility and statistics.

Disabled World
The primary focus of Disabled World is to provide information via our disability, health, medical, assistive products and world news including breaking news and information we receive from worldwide disability organizations and government departments, universities and educational institutions, as well as our in-house articles.

National Institute on Deafness and other Communication Disorders (NIDCD)
NIDCD’s mission areas are hearing, balance, taste, smell, voice, speech, and language. Find the latest information, guidelines and research here.

NYS Justice Center
The Justice Center is committed to supporting and protecting the health, safety, and dignity of all people with special needs and disabilities through advocacy of their civil rights, prevention of mistreatment, and investigation of all allegations of abuse and neglect so that appropriate actions are taken.

NYS Talking Book and Braille Library (TBBL)
The New York State Talking Book and Braille Library (TBBL) lends audio and braille books and magazines to eligible residents of upstate New York who have a qualifying print disability.

TLG Through the Looking Glass
(TLG) is a nationally recognized center that has pioneered research, training, and services for families in which a child, parent or grandparent has a disability or medical issue.

 

Community and Local Links

Aspire of WNY
Since 1947, Aspire (formerly United Cerebral Palsy Association) has served individuals with cerebral palsy, intellectual disabilities, epilepsy, autism and other neurological impairments. Aspire provides services and support to persons who are challenged physically and cognitively as a result of traumatic brain injuries, strokes, hearing and visual impairments, as well as other disabling conditions.

Assistive Technology Training Resources (Buffalo Area) New York State Commission for the Blind
Private assistive technology tutors in the Buffalo area. 

Braille Group of Buffalo (BGB)
Provides transcription services and Braille materials to visually impaired readers of all ages, and provides training to those who produce Braille. BGB transcribers are certified by the United States Library of Congress. BGB is an all-volunteer organization located in Getzville, NY.

Caregiving - Library Subject Guide
A librarian curated collection of websites useful to anyone providing care for a loved one, including resources for obtaining benefits, finding assisted living, long-term care and other services.

Center for Assistive Technology Client Service Programs University at Buffalo
We provide education, training, demonstration and referral services to people of all ages in Western New York and surrounding areas. We increase awareness and use of Assistive Technology (AT) devices and services for employment, education and independent living.

Central Referral (2-1-1 WNY)
Find health and human services throughout the eight counties of WNY. Also home to DDInfolink, your direct link to services to persons with developmental disability. Search by agency, type of service or location. Results will lead to contact and eligibililty information as well as to agency websites where available.

Community Services for Every 1
Offers support, service coordination, training, transportation and housing options throughout Western New York.

Deaf Access Services
Deaf Access Services is committed to creating a bridge between the Deaf, Hard of Hearing and Hearing Communities through advocacy, education, case management, counseling and interpreting services that govern equal access, symbolizing the accords of culturally affirmative principles in championing the rights of the Deaf.

Developmental Disabilities Alliance of WNY 
A collaborative group of member voluntary agencies that provide services to people with developmental disabilities. Find links to member sites, and up-to-date events calendar. Includes a downloadable, printable guide to area services.

Erie County Early Intervention Program
Resource for any child from birth to age three with a developmental delay, disability or condition that affects development that may need help.

Erie County Office for People with Disabilities
Referrals, advocacy, accessible parking permits in Erie County
Erie County Services for Individuals with Disabilities pdf booklet (799.94 kb)
 
Paratransit Access Line (PAL) service is a shared ride service that provides origin-to-destination transportation for paratransit eligible individuals under the Americans with Disabilities Act.
 
Recreation and Leisure Services Directory 2017
A resource compiled by the Parent Network of WNY for individuals with disabilities and families. This directory is intended to assist users in finding physical, social and creative opportunities to enrich one’s life.

Olmsted Center for Sight
Olmsted Center for Sight is a leader in quality services for individuals who are blind or visually impaired offering many services to the blind and visually impaired population throughout Western New York. Some services are provided in the client's home, school or place of business.

Parent Network of WNY
Links people with the information and resources they need concerning disabilities, community resources, available services, and schools.

People, Inc.
Serving the eight counties of WNY, People, Inc. provides services for children and young adults, community outreach, day programs, vocational services, family support and respite services, health care, information referral, residential services, and senior services.

Self-Advocacy Association of New York State
Helps set up local self-advocacy chapters, re-energizes existing groups, and shares information on local and national self-advocacy issues. It can also help the individual join a local self-advocacy group, plus provide free speakers to local groups, thus enhancing understanding and promoting independence.

Western New York Independent Living
The WNYIL family of agencies is a multicultural, grassroots, peer directed, civil rights organization that provides a full range of assistance programs and services to enhance the quality of life for all individuals with disabilities.

 

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.

Assistive Technology
Barrier-Free Design
Developmental Disabilities 
Disability Resource Directories
Employment Resources for people with disabilities
Hearing Disorders
Laws & legal issues
Sports and recreation for people with disabilities

 

subject guides terms