Literature
Databases
Britannica Academic
Britannica Academic combines the Encyclopedia Britannica with Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, magazines, periodicals, and many other research tools. Articles are written by Nobel laureates, historians, curators, professors, and other experts. Virtual Tour
Gale Literature Criticism
Brings together several literary series from Gale, including Contemporary Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature, and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism. Virtual Tour
Websites
Bartleby.com
Named for the Herman Melville character from his classic American story, Bartleby the Scrivener, this Internet publisher provides access to classic literature, reference and verse, from Shakespeare to Bartlett’s Quotations to Emily Dickenson.
Electric Literature
Non-profit dedicated to amplifying the power of storytelling through digital innovation.
goodreads
Create a free account and keep track of books read. Rate & review books, share recommendations, connect with friends & authors, and browse read-alike lists.
Internet Archive
The Internet Archive is a non-profit organization building a digital library of internet sites with free access to all readers. Over 1,800,000 books are available, along with audio, image and music archives.
Library Reads
LibraryReads is the monthly nationwide library staff picks list for adult fiction and non-fiction. The goal is to help connect librarians’ favorite books to as many readers as possible.
Literary Hub
Lit Hub is a site readers can rely on for smart, engaged, entertaining writing about all things books. Each day, alongside original content and exclusive excerpts, Literary Hub showcases an editorial feature from one of its many partners from across the literary spectrum: publishers big and small, journals, bookstores, and non-profits.
Los Angeles Review of Books
Nonprofit, multimedia literary and cultural arts magazine.
New York Times - Books
News, reviews and best sellers.
Nobel Prize in Literature
Contains information about nobel prize recipients, video interviews, book excerpts, and facts about the award.
Page-Turner
Criticism, contentions, and conversation inspired by books and the writing life from The New Yorker.
Project Gutenberg
Founded by Michael Hart, inventor of the eBook, Project Gutenberg is the first and largest collection of electronic texts available online for free. Classics in the public domain and many languages are represented among the more than 30,000 titles available for download.
Public Domain Review
Online journal and not-for-profit project dedicated to the exploration of curious and compelling works from the history of art, literature, and ideas. The focus is on works which have now fallen into the public domain, that vast commons of out-of-copyright material that everyone is free to enjoy, share, and build upon without restriction.
Washington Post Books
Book reviews and news about new books, best sellers, authors, literature, biographies, memoirs, children's books, fiction, non-fiction and more.
Community and Local Links
Electronic Poetry Center at SUNY Buffalo
The home page of the Electronic Poetry Center, an edited site devoted to the presentation of full-text resources for innovative writing.
Just Buffalo Literary Center
An independent organization devoted to building and sharing the creative power of words in WNY.
Library Materials
Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.
American literature
African Americans in literature
Classical literature
Short Stories