Hamburg Public Library

Hamburg Public Library

102 Buffalo St.
Hamburg, NY 14075
United States

Fax: 716-649-4160
Brian Hoth, Director

Located on Buffalo Street (Route 62) between Pleasant Avenue and Union Street, this lively library is nestled in the village of Hamburg. If you are looking for a great film collection, preschool story hours or a comfortable place to catch up on the daily news, the Hamburg Public Library may be the place for you. 

Our parking lot entrance is located on Union Street near the Buffalo Street intersection.

Come visit our newly opened outdoor Reading Garden! The Garden is open from Spring into Fall.

Free WiFi. 21 public access computers plus 6 laptops that can be checked out for use within the building. Networked printing is 10¢ per page B&W and 25¢ per page color. Copy machine at 25¢ per page.

The Hamburg Library has a meeting room that can be available for community meetings. Please complete the following application and return to the main desk.

MEETING ROOM APPLICATION & RULES OF USE


Stop in to check out Mmmm & Tea's Cafe!

Hours of operation: 

Monday 10 - 5
Wednesday and Friday 9 - 5
Saturday 9 - 3

Check out their website and Facebook page!


The Hamburg Library Is Accepting Donations of Used Books, Movies, and CDs for Our Ongoing Book Sale!


Image result for amazon smile

Help support the Hamburg Library by using Amazon Smile. 

Amazon donates 0.5% of the price to the charitable organization of your choice. Search for "Buffalo & Erie County Public Library CO. Hamburg, NY."

https://smile.amazon.com/ch/16-0813022

History 

A program detailing the history of the Hamburg Public Library was researched, written and presented by Librarian John R. Edson in 2001. More details are available here.


Hamburg Public Library Policies

System-Wide Policies

The Hamburg Public Library is a member of the Buffalo & Erie County Public Library System.

Hamburg Public Library

IMPORTANT UPDATE: The Hamburg Library shall remain closed in an effort to prevent the spread of COVID-19 until such time as the guidance of the Governor of the State of New York supports reopening. All library materials have been extended until May 18; however, materials can still be returned to our drop box. We will continue to post resources and engaging digital content on Facebook and our website. We wish you all health and safety, and we look forward to seeing you when we reopen! 

DONATIONS UPDATE: Until further notice the Hamburg Library will not accept material donations. We appreciate your understanding. 

 

 

   

Hamburg Public Library Board of Trustees Meeting

Tue, Apr 14, 2020 6:00 PM - 7:30 PM (EDT)
 
Please join my meeting from your computer, tablet or smartphone.
https://global.gotomeeting.com/join/645105597

You can also dial in using your phone.
United States: +1 (571) 317-3122

Access Code: 645-105-597

New to GoToMeeting? Get the app now and be ready when your first meeting starts:
https://global.gotomeeting.com/install/645105597

 
It is highly recommended to use the "dial in" option using your phone. This will avoid any troubleshooting issues with computers, tablets, etc.
 
 
 
 

 

Online fun, educational and FREE resources for all ages

 

Google calendar of livestreamed events: https://calendar.google.com/calendar/embed?src=p02rmig8r0lpnn6r8jsqs7g2oo%40group.calendar.google.com&ctz=America%2FNew_York&fbclid=IwAR12zvu9g2RMfre7feovwxbdmqVuploxdPgQ__x3vjm7mBdMoWfu7YqXxbo

 

Virtual Field Trips:

Google Arts and Culture: https://artsandculture.google.com/partner?hl=en

Virtual Field Trips: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1SvIdgTx9djKO6SjyvPDsoGlkgE3iExmi3qh2KRRku_w/mobilebasic?fbclid=IwAR1WYFrEiJrAtGhXnuIFagq2leEdsMDLuhVLo35qYX-N0WUlAb1CkwkedEk

San Diego Zoo: https://kids.sandiegozoo.org/

Cincinnati Zoo Livesteams at 3pm daily: http://cincinnatizoo.org/home-safari-resources/

Yellowstone National Park: https://www.nps.gov/yell/learn/photosmultimedia/virtualtours.htm

Explore Mars: https://accessmars.withgoogle.com/

Farm tours: https://www.farmfood360.ca/

Great Wall of China: https://www.thechinaguide.com/destination/great-wall-of-china

Travel around the world: https://www.projectexplorer.org/kids-home

Discovery Channel: https://www.discoveryeducation.com/community/virtual-field-trips/

Google Earth: https://www.google.com/earth

Smithsonian Museums and Zoo: https://www.si.edu/kids

Alaska Wildlife Cams: http://www.adfg.alaska.gov/index.cfm?adfg=viewing.webcams

National Park Virtual Tours: https://totallythebomb.com/heres-33-national-park-tours-you-can-take-virtually-from-the-comfort-of-your-home

Google 360-degree tours of national parks: https://artsandculture.withgoogle.com/en-us/national-parks-service

National Museum of Natural History: https://naturalhistory.si.edu/visit/virtual-tour

Brookfield Zoo Bring the Zoo to You Live Chats: https://www.facebook.com/events/850613708737781/

Buffalo Zoo: Follow them on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/BuffaloZoo/ for #TheZooToYou videos.

Oklahoma City Zoo at Two Livestreams on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/okczoo/

National Aquarium Live Cams: https://aqua.org/Experience/live

NYS Parks Virtual Tours: http://www.nystateparkstours.com/

 

Storytimes:

Storyline Online: https://www.storylineonline.net/

KidLit: https://kidlit.tv/

HarperKids Read Alouds: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLiYzMwyBPG96EDjV7MAohaCnXoQnqiBmG

Storytime from Space: https://storytimefromspace.com/

Compiled list of author, illustrator and celebrity readings: https://padlet.com/libookends/videos

Virtual Drag Story Time: https://www.facebook.com/events/s/virtual-drag-story-time/214524912946896/

Stimola livestreams from authors and illustrators: https://www.stimolalive.com/

Celebrity readings on Instagram: Follow #SaveWithStories

Dav Pilkey at Home: https://www.loc.gov/item/prn-20-026

Read Together Be Together, storytimes with authors live at 3pm daily: https://www.readtogetherbetogether.com/

Penguin Kids daily storytimes at 11: https://www.instagram.com/penguinkids/

Read Brightly daily storytimes at 2: https://www.instagram.com/readbrightly

WeAreTeachers storytimes with authors: https://www.weareteachers.com/storytime/ or https://www.weareteachers.com/virtual-author-activities

 

Sensory Play:

Little Bins for Little Hands: https://littlebinsforlittlehands.com/

How We Learn: www.howweelearn.com/

Busy Toddler: www.busytoddler.com

Happy Hooligans: https://happyhooligans.ca/

Learning 4 Kids: https://www.learning4kids.net/

Hands On As We Grow: www.handsonaswegrow.com

Growing Hands on Kids: https://www.growinghandsonkids.com/

My Bored Toddler: https://myboredtoddler.com/

The OT Tool Box: https://www.theottoolbox.com/

 

Music:

List of children’s music virtual concerts: https://coolprogeny.com/2020/03/childrens-musicians-perform-online-concerts/

Live-streamed classic music concerts from around the world: https://www.classicfm.com/music-news/live-streamed-classical-music-concerts-coronavirus/?fbclid=IwAR2o8rfuYh6Kj3vxIg7WkGdNbYYz3QVFo3EAyHqy_sHlmRc3EUXsUua3PGM

Music Education games: https://cornerstoneconfessions.com/2012/08/the-ultimate-list-of-online-music.html

Music Theory: https://www.musictheory.net/

Metropolitan Opera livestreams: https://www.metopera.org/

Vienna State Opera and ballet: https://www.wiener-staatsoper.at/en/staatsoper/news/detail/news/the-wiener-staatsoper-is-closed-but-continues-to-play-daily-online/

Living Room Concerts: https://www.broadwayworld.com/topic/LIVING-ROOM-CONCERTS

Billboard Live Performances: https://www.facebook.com/pg/Billboard/videos/

Royal Opera House, live streaming performances: https://www.roh.org.uk/news/the-royal-opera-house-launches-a-programme-of-free-online-content-for-the-culturally-curious-at-home

Buffalo Philharmonic:  https://www.wned.org/radio/wned-classical-945

 

Art:

Art at Home: Virtual tours of museums, contest, games, education and more! https://docs.google.com/document/d/1EVMQiHHKugF4RQ071DzimkSKn1AuiBNOJ-i6xs1mBts/edit?usp=sharing

National Gallery of Art: https://www.nga.gov/education/kids.html

Kids Think Design: http://www.kidsthinkdesign.org/index.html

Center for Puppetry Arts: https://puppet.org/center-for-puppetry-arts-home/

Imagineering in a Box and Pixar in a Box: https://www.khanacademy.org/humanities/hass-storytelling

Actor's Fund (Broadway interviews and concerts): https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCcLevqLUq4hzVxLn3b_ubNw

McHarper Manor: Live art tutorials on Facebook at 1pm daily. https://www.facebook.com/McHarperManor/

Streamed performances from Shakespeare's Globe, starting April 6: https://londontheinside.com/shakespeares-globe-to-stream-plays-for-free/

 

Math:

Greg Tang Math (Grades K-6): https://gregtangmath.com/

Illuminations from the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (PreK-12):  https://illuminations.nctm.org/

Arithmetic Four (grades 2-8): http://www.shodor.org/interactivate/activities/ArithmeticFour/

Cool Math Games (Grades K-12): https://www.coolmathgames.com/

Figure This! (grades 6-8): https://figurethis.nctm.org/index.html

Funbrain (preK-8): https://www.funbrain.com/

Math Game Time (K-7): http://www.mathgametime.com/

Math Playground: (grades 1-6): https://www.mathplayground.com/

 

Science:

National Geographic for Kids: https://kids.nationalgeographic.com/

SciShow Kids: https://www.youtube.com/user/scishowkids

Switch Zoo: https://www.switchzoo.com/

Earth Day resources from NASA: https://www.nasa.gov/content/earth-day-2020-50th-anniversary-toolkit

STEM activities to do at home: http://clearinghouse.starnetlibraries.org/161-our-planet-earth

Science activities at home: https://elementalscience.com/blogs/news/80-free-science-activities

Hour of Code: https://hourofcode.com/us/learn

Science Spot: https://sciencespot.net/

Code Academy: https://www.codecademy.com/

NASA Climate Kids: https://climatekids.nasa.gov/

Homeschool Scientist: https://thehomeschoolscientist.com/

Virtual Marine Biology Camp: http://oceansinitiative.org/blog/

National Zoo Webcams: https://nationalzoo.si.edu/webcams

Monterey Bay Aquarium Live Cams: https://www.montereybayaquarium.org/animals/live-cams/

National Aquarium Livestreams: https://www.aqua.org/Experience/live

Franklin Institute: https://www.fi.edu/sparkofscience

Mystery Science (K-5): https://mysteryscience.com/school-closure-planning

Buffalo Museum of Science Virtual Science Fair: https://www.sciencebuff.org/virtualsciencefair/

Steve Spangler Science: https://www.stevespanglerscience.com/

 

History:

Digital archive of history: https://www.bunkhistory.org/

Mission US: https://www.mission-us.org/

Games based on the Magic Tree House series: https://www.magictreehouse.com/

Ben’s Guide to the US Government: https://bensguide.gpo.gov/

Genealogy resources for kids: https://abundantgenealogy.com/free-genealogy-resources-for-cooped-up-kids

 

Fitness:

United We Move: https://www.youtube.com/planetfitness

 Down Dog Yoga: https://www.downdogapp.com/

Peloton: https://www.onepeloton.com/app

Mindfulness Class for Kids: https://www.mindfulschools.org/free-online-mindfulness-class-for-kids/?fbclid=IwAR0ooWCAa1Jw31oivtxGr8AfNkRY5hxV3tTvPNMb96kQ1XzBi_V6nan5EEg

Danceability dance classes on Facebook Live: https://www.facebook.com/DanceabilityInc/

Free to be Mindful classes for K-5: https://www.freetobemindful.com/virtualclass

PE with Joe daily fitness for kids: https://youtu.be/K6r99N3kXME

Headspace: https://www.headspace.com/ny

Buffalo Bills Play 60 Challenge: https://www.buffalobills.com/community/play-60-challenge

 

Lists of resources:

Amazing Educational Resources, compiled by librarians across the US: http://www.amazingeducationalresources.com/

Khan Academy: Exercises, lessons and games. (K-12): https://www.khanacademy.org/

Jefferson Lab  (grades 3-11): https://education.jlab.org/indexpages/elementgames.html

Bookends, for all things book related: https://padlet.com/libookends/bookresources

150+ Enrichment Activities for Children While Parents are Working Remotely: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1KCFnWreu4v7VoO3NbgP-Qcq2LyE1FvliYSoiTLRY7Qg/htmlview?fbclid=IwAR17O2-G1Gsny436hXYQbEAmNRh0FaJszEexHuBZiHB0JeQqsZbpew4M8aA

Movement and Mindfulness: https://www.gonoodle.com/

Supercharged School: https://www.superchargedschool.com/

Ducksters: https://www.ducksters.com/

PBS Kids: https://pbskids.org/

Daily Stem: http://dailystem.com/resources/

Education companies offering free subscriptions: https://www.goodhousekeeping.com/life/parenting/g31677468/education-companies-offering-subscriptions

Scholastic Lean at Home: https://classroommagazines.scholastic.com/support/learnathome.html

Great Minds Knowledge On the Go (new video lessons daily, K-12): https://gm.greatminds.org/en-us/knowledgeonthego

Children's Museums Virtual Activities: https://childrensmuseums.blog/2020/03/24/virtual-activities-for-families

List of publishers and their offerings of free resources, author events, storytimes, virtual book recommendations and more: https://publishers.org/aap-news/covid-19-response/

 

Escape Rooms

Harry Potter: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSflNxNM0jzbZJjUqOcXkwhGTfii4CM_CA3kCxImbY8c3AABEA/viewform

Alice in Wonderland: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSc4-g_PdCdGnThONdtmbQZdfIG1tfy_L2PedFrN-uCnN5nDlg/viewform

Marvel Avengers: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSdXeCKJN6fBV-o25x_C1srOMfOqjzmmzSuhy5npJuHXnThcMA/viewform

Oh the Horror: Classic Tales Escape Room: https://juliaboyerreinsteinlib.itch.io/oh-the-horror-classic-tales-escape-room

Escape the Fairy Tale Part 1: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSe1xF-PUPOxGO0loMSoBkwXeHQUPsep9_EwWA7SP9YwaIs3Lg/viewform

Star Wars: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSdgQSe3coQ5ga8wY3MYZ9zdKs6ESXo5OjDk9aYfRhrvoAN0OA/viewform

Pokemon: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLScnT1OHSZasKXMPluquqFVoxtrD7M41Yq1tGENQQGNZQ_c87Q/viewform

Space Explorer: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSfDmYfaut6zbQDpJDkfX8edxMOiFoon0QRASoxTZwPGUtHu9w/viewform

BreakoutEDU: https://www.breakoutedu.com/funathome

Cinderella: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSfX4nFPt04K7ePZYESFABj6FJ9gs7TQIF0ubEKU3s5LqlAXOA/viewform

Spy: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSdelL0PKnOdBc0v3kO_O71ufpLq5pZogq7sER-GqPE71Ttbbw/viewform

Golden Girls: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSe3x8PQttDvhXtK0bZkiK7kSCMUWJcrqPmFulWThYMDciAViQ/viewform

Escape the Sphinx: https://sites.google.com/view/ccpl-digital-library-escape1/home?fbclid=IwAR2YjvKwaIYOFrKzMUE-rSdg9FXmzScBEYLU68a5JzcqD3ioGxfrXgZZs_0

Pete the Cat: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLScLUD7mHmjTkC-W50u9hC3LGPFURjZSdMRjqnCc77ch3xzy1Q/viewform

Minotaur's Labyrinth: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSevkDdrrd0tTxoBHZwreEQQdBxhU9A-cVB81AA49S-TV_XqIw/viewform

Dog Man: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSdvvgOhiVwRzXSxHuHlEzfGEUPQaABbgpL6JLPHn8A93ThWpw/viewform

Minecraft: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSfKkueafhM5Glhz2MesjhWtnrGrvP24BqaX8ijUM1IGln_xMQ/viewform

Ditchbook: https://sites.google.com/view/ditchbookdigitalescaperoom/home

Make Math Not Suck Triangle Escape Room: https://sites.google.com/sjsd.k12.mo.us/triangle-congruence-breakout/home

Earth Day: https://sites.google.com/a/weareteachers.com/earth-day-2017/

Ransomware: https://sites.google.com/view/csforteachers-breakout01/home

Mr. Awesome: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSdjy_LwVTxsgzOtBEdru9b3OIi14HZiiAnq-WcWFE6OYvaAlw/viewform

Going to Movies: https://sites.google.com/watertowncsd.org/going-to-the-movies-digital-br/home

Civil War: https://sites.google.com/smcsc.com/breakout-civilwar-8thgradeushi/home?authuser=0

Escape Like an Egyptian: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/1QqT3deA-yHpcZ-gZpYydmXP8_RGQitV0jmU_psH1GzQ/viewform

Escape from Narnia: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSe_2Xd8RpXDN8loXC1TtqTfb9HnXtVKp0VHchjFNmcAX9esnw/viewform

 

 

Teens

TedEd: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1lUzad8RFMU8cFwCLMeTv7bq1R3ctmdAo1MvZ-NOobpY

BBCiReporter: https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/resources/idt-8760dd58-84f9-4c98-ade2-590562670096

Ivy league University courses online: https://www.freecodecamp.org/news/ivy-league-free-online-courses-a0d7ae675869

List of free online university courses: https://www.classcentral.com/report/new-courses-october-2018/

Disney Zumba: https://insidethemagic.net/2020/03/disney-zumba-lp1/

   

Hamburg Board Info